Meet ATPE’s 2020-21 State Officers

ATPE members gathered online July 9 during the virtual ATPE Summit to elect a new slate of officers for the coming membership year.

These officers (shown above) start their terms August 1. Your 2020-21 state officers are:

President Jimmy Lee is a substitute teacher in Paris ISD in Region 8. He has been in education for 33 years and in ATPE for 22 years. Lee has served as ATPE’s vice president, state secretary, and treasurer.

Vice President Karen Hames is an eighth-grade English/language arts and reading teacher in Lewisville ISD, Region 11, with 42 years of education experience and 23 years as an ATPE member. She previously served as ATPE’s state treasurer and secretary.

Secretary Stacey Ward hails from Region 4, where she is a fifth-grade math and science teacher in Humble ISD. She has 23 years of education experience along with her 23 years as an ATPE member. She previously served as state treasurer.
Treasurer Jayne Serna is an adjunct professor of history at Austin Community College. She’s been in education for 30 years, all of them with ATPE. She previously served as Region 13 director and Leander ATPE president.

Past President Tonja Gray is a 32-year education veteran from Region 14 and has been with ATPE for 27 years. She works at the Region 14 Education Service Center.

Starting top left, going clockwise in the photo is 2019-20 Past State President Byron Hildebrand swearing in the 2020-21 state officers: Tonja Gray, Jimmy Lee, Jayne Serna, Stacey Ward, and Karen Hames.
Trackback URL:’s-2020-21-State-Officers.aspx?culture=en-US


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

© The Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) 2020
All Rights Reserved
No part of this website or blog or any of its contents may be reproduced, copied, modified or adapted, without the prior written consent of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, unless otherwise indicated for stand-alone materials. All requests for content sharing or dissemination may be forwarded to the Communications Director, ATPE at