Welcome ATPE’s 2018-19 State Officers

On July 12, ATPE members gathered at summit to elect a new slate of officers for the coming year.

These officers (shown above) started their terms on Aug. 1. Your 2018-19 state officers are:

President Byron “Skip” Hildebrand, from Region 20, is a retired math teacher with 34 years of experience in education and 26 years as an ATPE member. Hildebrand has been the ATPE state vice president secretary, and treasurer.

Vice President Tonja Gray is a 30-year education veteran from Region 14. A 25-year ATPE member, Gray is a K-5 Literacy Success teacher in Abilene ISD. Gray has served as ATPE’s state secretary and treasurer.

Secretary Jimmy Lee is a food science teacher in Millsap ISD. He has been in education for 31 years and in ATPE for 20 years. Lee served as ATPE’s 2017-18 state treasurer.

Treasurer Karen Hames is an eighth-grade humanities teacher with 40 years of education experience and 21 years as an ATPE member. Before becoming state treasurer, Hames served as Region 11 director.

Past President Carl Garner, from Region 10, is a sixth-grade math and science teacher in Mesquite ISD with 18 years in education and as an ATPE member. Garner has served as ATPE’s state president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer.

From left to right in photo: Past President Carl Garner, Treasurer Karen Hames, Secretary Jimmy Lee, Vice President Tonja Gray, and President Bryon Hildebrand

Not an ATPE member? Join today to become part of the state’s largest and most trusted educator group.

Trackback URL: https://www.atpe.org/trackback/276fcdf9-0652-4abc-a713-a3ee4659a64d/Welcome-ATPE’s-2018-19-State-Officers.aspx?culture=en-US


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

© The Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) 2021
All Rights Reserved
No part of this website or blog or any of its contents may be reproduced, copied, modified or adapted, without the prior written consent of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, unless otherwise indicated for stand-alone materials. All requests for content sharing or dissemination may be forwarded to the Communications Director, ATPE at comm@atpe.org