Congratulations to ATPE’s Educator of the Year Finalists!

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year finalists have been announced! These awards recognize ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields.

Awards are divided into five categories—Administrator, Associate, Elementary, Secondary, and Special Services. The finalists are:

Administrator finalists

Cecilia Meza, Galena Park ATPE
Susana Ramirez, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE
David Vroonland, Mesquite ATPE

Associate finalists

Hilda Martinez, La Joya ATPE
Teri Nail, Boerne ATPE
Yolanda Salinas, Edinburg ATPE

Elementary finalists

Christopher Adams, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ATPE
Ilene Pappert, Austin ATPE
Michael Sweet, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE

Secondary finalists

Lynn Burleigh, Axtell ATPE
Claudia Cortez, Brownsville ATPE
Krysta Reed, Andrews ATPE

Special Services finalists

Michael Balderas, Edinburg ATPE
Angelica Cuellar, Galena Park ATPE
Rebecca Monsevalles, Weslaco ATPE

Congratulations to these amazing educators! The winners will be presented at the 2017 ATPE Summit Awards Banquet.

Not an ATPE member? Join today to become part of Texas’s largest and most trusted educator group.

Trackback URL:’s-Educator-of-the-Year-Finalists!.aspx?culture=en-US


kethrine Posted On: August 16, 2018
great to learn all that stuff

kadinvsaglik Posted On: January 18, 2018
Nice writing Thanks to you for providing amazing Information.

Charles pickitt Posted On: May 11, 2017
Congratulations to a very wonderful group of educators. Thank you for caring so much for our kids.

Kathy Stuart Posted On: May 10, 2017
Thankful for Mesquite ISD and Dr. Varoonland!

© The Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) 2021
All Rights Reserved
No part of this website or blog or any of its contents may be reproduced, copied, modified or adapted, without the prior written consent of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, unless otherwise indicated for stand-alone materials. All requests for content sharing or dissemination may be forwarded to the Communications Director, ATPE at