ATPE state officers

The ATPE House of Delegates elects four state officers annually: president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. Along with the immediate past state president, these working educators form ATPE’s Executive Committee.

Byron W. Hildebrand

Byron W. Hildebrand

State president

Region 20
San Antonio ATPE

Contact Byron W. Hildebrand

President Byron “Skip” Hildebrand, from Region 20, is a retired math teacher with 37 years of experience in education and 25 years as an ATPE member. Hildebrand has been the ATPE state treasurer and secretary.
Tonja Gray

Tonja Gray

State Vice President

Region 14
Abilene ATPE

Contact Tonja Gray

Vice president Tonja Gray is a 29-year education veteran from Region 14. A 24-year ATPE member, Gray is a K-5 Literacy Success teacher in Abilene ISD. Gray served as ATPE’s 2016-17 state secretary.
Jimmy Lee

Jimmy Lee

State secretary

Region 8
Paris ATPE

Contact Jimmy Lee

Secretary Jimmy Lee is a food science teacher in Millsap ISD. He has been in education for 30 years and in ATPE for 19 years. Before being elected state treasurer, Lee was the Region 8 director.
Karen Hames

Karen Hames

State Treasurer

Region 11
Lewisville ATPE

Contact Karen Hames

Treasurer Karen Hames, from Region 11, is an eighth-grade humanities teacher with 40 years of experience in the classroom.
Carl Garner

Carl Garner

Immediate state past president

Region 10
Mesquite ATPE

Contact Carl Garner

Immediate state past president Carl Garner, from Region 10, is a sixth-grade math and science teacher with 17 years of experience in education. Garner has served as ATPE’s state vice president, secretary, and treasurer.

Questions? Send us a message or call the ATPE state office at (800) 777-2873.