Region 1


Thank you for being a part of ATPE, the largest educator organization in the nation. Our region is one of 20 across the state. On this page you’ll find the contact information for our local and regional officers, as well as a calendar that will include our meeting notices. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you!

ATPE has eight Regional Membership Specialists working statewide. Your Regional Membership Specialist is Roger Gutierrez. You may contact him at:



Region 1 ATPE on Facebook

Forms and Documents

Region Officers

Click on the president's name to send him or her an email.

Name Office Campus
Hector Cruz Region Director Weslaco High
Michael Balderas Region President Robert R Vela High School
Rebecca Monsevalles Region Vice President Weslaco High
Norma Vega Region Secretary Memorial Middle
Michael Sweet Region Treasurer Carman Elementary
Rene Zuniga Region Past President South Texas College
Roger Gutierrez Region Misc Office Silva Elementary

ATPE Local Units in Region 1

The local unit president is listed. Click on the president’s name to send him or her an email.

Name Local Unit Campus
Claudia Cortez Brownsville ATPE Porter High
Monica Jimenez Donna ATPE Adame Elementary
Juan Jara Edcouch-Elsa ATPE Edcouch-Elsa High
Michael Balderas Edinburg ATPE Robert R Vela High School
Norma Vega La Joya ATPE Memorial Middle
Ma Elena Ingram McAllen ATPE Brown Middle
Veronica Lopez North Starr ATPE San Isidro Middle
Mike Sweet Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE Carman Elementary
Juan Garcia Rio Grande City ATPE Rio Grande City CISD
Jaclyn Cavazos Rio Hondo ATPE Rio Hondo Elementary
Maria Celia Guerra Roma ATPE Roma ISD
Eddie Hinojosa Santa Rosa ATPE Santa Rosa High
Irania Juarez South Texas College - Mid Valley ATPE South Texas College - Mid Valley Campus
Beverly Goodin Herrera United ATPE Alexander High
Melissa Anzaldua Valley View (1) ATPE Campus Unknown
Rebecca Monsevalles Weslaco ATPE Weslaco High
Christina Lopez Willacy County ATPE Smith Elementary
Rebeka Longoria Zapata ATPE Zapata High


Region President

Edinburg CISD


  Visit us on Facebook