Alafair Hammett Media Award

Recognizing excellence in education reporting

Named for the association’s first state president, the Alafair Hammett Media Award is presented annually to one journalist for outstanding support and coverage of public education issues.

ATPE staff members select the finalists. The Public Information Committee then selects the recipients. Beginning in 2021, the Alafair Hammett Media Award will be presented in recognition of a single piece of journalistic work rather than to an individual reporter for a body of work. No application required.

Questions? Send us a message or call the ATPE state office at (800) 777-2873.