2016 ATPE Award Winners

ATPE award winners were announced at the 2016 ATPE Summit, which was held July 20-22 in Austin.


Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award

This award recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields. The winners are:

Administrator of the Year—Gary Schepf, Irving ISD Administration Building, Irving ISD

Associate of the Year—Kay Deckerhoff, AR Turner Elementary, Willis ISD

Elementary Teacher of the Year—Celena Miller, Cesar Chavez Elementary, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo

ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year—Carrie Becker, Lamar Middle School, Lewisville ISD

Special Services of the Year—Alice Hartlaub, Montclair Elementary, Corpus Christi ISD


Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award

This award acknowledges ATPE volunteers who are fundamental to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. The winners are:

Local units with 1-200 members—Sherry Boyd, Spearman ATPE

Local units with 201-500 members—Kally Evans, Willis ATPE

Local units with 501+ members—Michael Balderas, Edinburg ATPE


Local Unit of the Year Award

This award acknowledges local unit efforts and accomplishments during the year. The winners are:

Local units with 1-200 members—Santa Rosa ATPE

Local units with 201-500 members—Pharr-San Juan-Alamo

ATPE Local units with 501+ members—Weslaco ATPE

University local units—Tarleton State University


ATPE Excellence in Communications Award

This award recognizes outstanding local unit communications. The winners are:

Local units with 1–200 members—La Porte ATPE

Local units with 201-500 members—Boerne ATPE

Local units with 501+ members—Brownsville


ATPE Alafair Hammett Media Award

Named for ATPE’s first president, this award recognizes individual local media reporters for their outstanding support and coverage of public education. The recipients are:

Julie Chang, Austin American-Statesman, Austin

Ashlei King, KABB TV, San Antonio

Mark Wiggins, KVUE TV, Austin


Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award

This award, ATPE’s highest honor, is presented to individuals who demonstrate superior service to public education. This year, the Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award was presented to the Honorable Senator Bill Haley.


Congratulations to all of our award winners! Learn more about ATPE awards, including application deadlines and how to apply.

Trackback URL: https://www.atpe.org/trackback/1a05ed32-787d-4d6e-ab21-ab74d97b95ad/2016-ATPE-Award-Winners.aspx?culture=en-US


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

© The Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) 2021
All Rights Reserved
No part of this website or blog or any of its contents may be reproduced, copied, modified or adapted, without the prior written consent of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, unless otherwise indicated for stand-alone materials. All requests for content sharing or dissemination may be forwarded to the Communications Director, ATPE at comm@atpe.org