ATPE is taking an active role on two important Texas public education issues.

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) held a hearing on April 25 to take public testimony on the commissioner’s proposed rules for the implementation of House Bill (HB) 1842 dealing with Districts of Innovation (DOI). HB 1842 by House Public Education Chairman Jimmie Don Aycock (R-Killeen) was passed by the legislature in 2015 and addressed several aspects of the state’s accountability system for schools. The provision allowing for innovation districts, which had been proposed through a stand-alone bill last session that did not pass, was added to HB 1842 as a late addition by a conference committee that was tasked with ironing out differences in House and Senate versions of the bill.

Read about ATPE’s testimony on innovation districts here.

Additionally, ATPE filed a petition on Monday with the Texas Commissioner of Education legally challenging his recent adoption of rules creating a new state-recommended teacher appraisal system. 

Read more about ATPE’s legal opposition to the Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System (T-TESS) here.

Trackback URL:


Richard Wiggins Posted On: April 28, 2016
As an educator, taxpayer, parent and grandparent, I am greatly concerned about the implications and applications of "Districts of Innovation." HB1842 is like an iceberg. It looks harmless on the surface. But as you examine it closely, you see that below the surface there is a lot of danger to Texas Public Educatiob, parents rights, educator rights and has the potential to paralyze Public Education. Uncertified teachers? What was our legislature thinking?

© The Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE) 2020
All Rights Reserved
No part of this website or blog or any of its contents may be reproduced, copied, modified or adapted, without the prior written consent of the Association of Texas Professional Educators, unless otherwise indicated for stand-alone materials. All requests for content sharing or dissemination may be forwarded to the Communications Director, ATPE at