Association of Texas Professional Educators

Texas Public School Districts that Participate in Social Security

The following is a list of school districts that participate in Social Security. Use the Texas Education Agency's School District Locator for district information.

Districts in Which All Employees Contribute to Social Security

Anahuac ISD LaGloria ISD
Austin ISD Pharr-San Juan ISD
Big Sandy ISD (ESC 6) Port Arthur ISD
Brookeland ISD Premont ISD
Brownwood ISD Randolph Field ISD
Fort Davis ISD San Antonio ISD
Goodrich ISD Sweeney ISD
Iraan-Sheffield ISD West Rusk ISD
Lackland ISD  

Districts in which Only Auxiliary or Part-time Employees Contribute to Social Security

Aransas County ISD Hudson ISD
Baird ISD Hunt ISD
Banquet ISD Kilgore ISD
Belton ISD Lindale ISD
Calhoun County ISD Lubbock ISD
Canyon ISD Lufkin ISD
Christoval ISD Nocona ISD
Coleman ISD Northside ISD
Cooper ISD Ponder ISD
Denver City ISD San Saba ISD
Electra ISD Somerville ISD
Glen Rose ISD Stephenville ISD
Gonzales ISD Tidehaven ISD
Granbury ISD West ISD
Groveton ISD Yoakum ISD
Hidalgo ISD  

Other Education Agencies and Institutions that Participate in Social Security and TRS

Region Service Centers:
     2 Corpus Christi
     12 Waco
     15 San Angelo
     17 Lubbock
     20 San Antonio
Dallas County Schools (bus provider)
Harris County Dept. of Education
Many Texas Universities and Junior Colleges (contact business offices for details)

Government Pension Offset (pdf)
Windfall Elimination Provision (pdf)